daily Greenland, Arctic Canada and Iceland land ice albedo grids

Daily 0.5 km, 1 km and 5 km resolution Greenland, Arctic Canada and Iceland glaciated area albedo grids are available beginning April 2000 and (currently ending) September, 2017. The data are based on NASA MOD10A1 Collection 6 data with de-noising, gap filling, and bias correction after Box et al. (2017).

An example (15 July 2016) of the daily 500 m x 500 m enhanced MOD10A1 Collection 6 albedo product presented in this article.

The grids are available through PROMICE at 5 km resolution. Data at the native 500 m resolution and 1 km resolution are available on request (jeb at geus dot dk).

Grid Properties

The data are distributed in NetCDF format and contain latitude, longitude, land mask. The map projection information:

Polar Stereographic
Map Reference Latitude: 90.0
Map Second Reference Latitude: 71.0
Map Reference Longitude: -39.0
Map Equatorial Radius: 6370.0
Grid Width: 301
Grid Height: 561
Grid Map Units per Cell: 5.0 ; km
Map Origin X: -800
Map Origin Y: -600

Works Cited

  • Box, J.E., D. van As, K. Steffen, 2017. Greenland, Canadian and Icelandic land ice albedo grids (2000-2016), Geological Survey of Denmark and Greenland Bulletin, 38, 53-56. link

Sentinel-2 at the Lautaret site

The col du Lautaret site, located in the heart of the French Alps, is used by the team as a validation target for the “ESA SEOM Sentinel-3 for Science Land Study: Snow S-3-Snow”” project. The site is host to numerous observations of the snowpack and the atmosphere which will be used as part of this contract, in parallel with other CNRS / Météo France funded projects.
To account for the evolution of the snowpack a good repetitiveness of observations is necessary, therefore automated ground measurements are carried out during the winter season. Additionally, Sentinel 2 (L1C) data is being used as a inter-comparison tool, to test methods that will be applied to Sentinel 3 imagery.


Above, a time-series animation from Sentinel-2 images aquired over the winter 2016-2017 (Maxim Lamare).